Artist of a Thousand Tasks

One woman's crazy quest to take on everything and become the ultimate jack-of-all-trades.

Fitness Contest- Day 1

So my intention to enter into some sort of fitness competition has sparked a minor controversy on Facebook. There is a friendly discussion occurring over the health dangers and extreme methods needed to do well in many contests that look at physique. I have had some people suggest taking on a race or something of that nature. I will be doing some more research and setting an official goal over the next week or so.

Whatever I decide, I am not going to be able to do it in my current state. I have weight that has to come off, so no point in delaying the inevitable.

As of 2/22 I am exactly two months postpartum. When I got pregnant I weighed 126, which admittedly was about 10 lbs heavier than I like to be. To give you some visuals, this was me on my honeymoon in 2006 when I made my living as a martial arts instructor and was working on becoming a stunt professional:

DSCN5824_edited-1

That smug, skinny wench. Anyway, then kids happened. A few days before my son was born I looked like this:

41 weeks

I was 160 lbs, the heaviest I have ever been. Thankfully, much of that was baby. I had learned something from my postpartum recovery with my daughter, and I knew I wanted to get started on weight loss as soon as possible. I got the go-ahead at my six-week postpartum visit and marched my jiggly booty right into Weight Watchers. I weighed in at 144 lbs and looked like this:

IMG_0346

Maybe if it was taken at a fabulous resort in Mexico I would feel better about it. It hurts to look at (except I have boobs for the first time ever, I am loving those), but I know I have to start somewhere. I chose Weight Watchers because I have a good track record of success losing weight on their program and keeping it off. It did not hurt that as a Lifetime member I get 12 free weeks to get back down to goal because I had a baby. That was almost a month ago and at last weigh-in I had lost 4 pounds total. That is a drop in the bucket as far as I am concerned, but we all know that slow and steady weight loss is best, and I am responsible for providing nutrition to a little munchkin so I have to be especially careful.

Weight as of last weigh-in: 140 lbs
Weight Watchers Lifetime goal: 122 lbs
Honeymoon bikini picture: 115 lbs (rough estimate)

I much prefer to have non-number goals when it comes to weight loss, so I will start working on a timeline of fitness goals once I have a better idea of what the end game is for this project. That’s all for today, next time I will discuss the other part of this equation: exercise. Anyone else out there working on weight loss or training for a fitness competition?

4 comments on “Fitness Contest- Day 1

  1. Kiva
    March 4, 2013

    I am really starting to focus on fitness and healthy eating for the first time in my life. I was always a “fit kiddo” and “fit teen” (heck,I was a swimmer and a gymnast all through high school) but that’s because I had the metabolism of a Hummingbird! lol
    Now that I am a mere 10 days from turning 33,I have really made the choice to buckle down and get in shape. Right now that consists of drinking freaking truck tons of water,booting soda to the curb,finding more ways to be active,getting outside more,and cooking at home. The goal to cook more at home has also made me aware that I need to become a better chef! đŸ™‚

    • thousandtasksartist
      March 7, 2013

      Water. That is a HUGE weakness of mine. I run around perpetually dehydrated (every time I end up in the hospital for something they have to dump several liters of fluids into me). Any tips for drinking plenty of it? Especially when you are chasing two kids all day?

      Let me know if you need some recipes. I have the healthy cooking thing down, I just need to not eat three bowls of my healthy soups when one is sufficient.

  2. So I may have had too much holiday cheer. Holiday season started in October and ended with Girl Scout cookies…so, ah, last week. And my pants no longer fit. For the first time in my life I bought a bathroom scale and then was horribly, horribly depressed.

    I know you written that you wanted non-number goals, but what if it’s all numbers? More than what the scale says, but quantifying every bit of data in your weight loss program as if you are a lab rat eating Orlistat.

    What I am doing…

    My whole weight loss goal evolves around having a 500 calorie deficit every day. One pound is 3500 calories, so at the end of the week (500 x 7) I should have lost one pound. No trying to “eat healthy” because that would be automatic failure for me. On my program, I can eat a whole box of delicious Samoa Girl Scout cookies if I wanted too, but that would be my “meal” for the entire day.

    I, being a geek, use technology to track my progress. I use an android calorie counting app called MyFitnessPal. At set up you tell it your goals and it sets up a plan for you. Mine says I can eat 1360 a day, but that is entirely based off my basal metabolic rate. If I did nothing but just breathe, by body would burn 1838 calories.

    What I like best about the app, beside the barcode scanner, is logging exercise. If I do 30 minutes of some aerobics streaming show on Netflix, I can record it and the total number of calories I can eat that day goes up. So yay! I can have chocolate cake.

    My first full week ended yesterday and I have lost 3 pounds. I doubt I’ll be able to sustain that type of loss. It’s probably my body freaking out over the lack of sugary goodness. But as long as the numbers go down, I’ll be happy.

  3. thousandtasksartist
    March 7, 2013

    I totally understand about the bathroom scale. Wretched thing. Ours is actually about three pounds less than what WW says I weigh. Which is sort of like when you set your clock ahead five minutes so that you are never late anymore, only you KNOW it is five minutes ahead so you always take that into account when looking at the clock thereby rendering your whole punctuality plan useless…

    I also understand about that pants. I gained so much weight I donated my pants to charity after I had the baby because I knew it would be a long time before they fit me again and I did not want them sitting in my closet mocking me.

    I do use numbers a lot during the weight loss process, it is unavoidable, but I get myself in trouble when I focus too much on the weight goal. For one thing, fitness level makes a huge difference. 115 and fit looks way different on me than 115 without the fitness element (looks like I still have 5-10 pounds to lose). Usually I try to have other goals like body fat % (though stil a number) or “visible shoulder muscles” or something like that.

    I have heard good things about the MyFitnessPal app. WW has something similar but they deal in “points” rather than calories. Same concept, though. Three pounds is really good, and I have heard that it is common to lose more in the first few weeks of a diet. Everything I have read/heard says you want to settle in at about 1-2 pounds a week for healthy weight loss that stays off.

    Have you found any good Netflix videos? I borrowed P90X from my step dad, I am hoping it is as nightmarish as people say….

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 1, 2013 by in Fitness and tagged , , , , , , .
