Artist of a Thousand Tasks

One woman's crazy quest to take on everything and become the ultimate jack-of-all-trades.

Fitness Contest- Day 2

I am about 2/3 Native American, and my mother always says that our people HAVE to be active.  It has been true, at least with me, that diet does not seem to do much unless I am also working out a lot.

I find that the most difficult thing about exercise right now is child care.  My daughter, D, can come with me to the gym, but my son is too little for the child care.  This week I decided “no more excuses” and started going right after my husband gets home from work.  I always prefer to take classes, I think I work harder when someone is yelling at me, but at this point even an hour of straight cardio is probably beneficial.

When I do cardio, I usually choose an elliptical machine because I find that running hurts my knees.  Has anyone else dealt with this?  A lot of the races I am looking at doing involve running and I would really like to find a way to participate without my joints acting like I have consigned them to the ninth circle of hell.

My review of my first couple of workouts: Sad.  Sad sad sad.  I do not think I have ever been this out of shape in my life.

It recently occurred to me that my little brother is getting his bachelor’s in exercise science with a minor in nutrition.  He has worked at a gym since he was old enough to work and wants to become a personal trainer.  This is great, because right now I am way too cheap to pay for personal training.  I asked him and he is willing to work with me on an exercise program and nutrition plan above and beyond what I am already doing with Weight Watchers!

Speaking of Weight Watchers, yes I weighed in last week.  I don’t really want to talk about it.  OK, twist my arm.  The scale did not budge.  I am really hoping to start seeing better results now that I am exercising consistently.  It is waaaaaaaay to early to plateau.

One comment on “Fitness Contest- Day 2

  1. Sarah
    March 6, 2013

    I have trouble with treadmills too. My knees and ankles can’t take it. I find that I get my heart rate up much higher on the elliptical anyway, though. And I like to go backwards for a minute every 5 minutes or so.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 6, 2013 by in Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , .
