Artist of a Thousand Tasks

One woman's crazy quest to take on everything and become the ultimate jack-of-all-trades.

Fitness Contest Day 3: BodyCombat™

If you have read my early blogs you will know that I have spent a good portion of my life doing martial arts.  I started training in the back of a gym (Very Rocky) in Oklahoma when I was 15, earned my black belt in Tae Kwon Do, and eventually started training with Warrior Quest International.  I trained about 12 hours a week for several years, earned my second degree black belt, taught a children’s program, and even had my own business teaching at schools around the Denver metro area.  I lived and breathed martial arts.

Receiving my first degree black belt certificate in 2006

Receiving my first degree black belt certificate in 2006

Two kids later it has been almost impossible to continue my training.  I hope that when they get older I can get back into it, and maybe they will be interested in trying it too.  Meanwhile, my skills are atrophying, big time.  That’s why I was excited to hear that the 24 Hour Fitness® where we work out was starting a new LesMill’s program called BodyCombat™ that was based on several types of martial arts (karate, boxing, mui thai, capoeira, and tkd to name a few).  When to program started I was seven months pregnant, so I have been eagerly awaiting the day when I can give the class a try.

Their website claims that the average calories burned during one of these classes is 737 and I believe them.  Today I am remembering that I have lots and lots of muscles.  They are all groaning each time I move, reminding me how I’ve neglected them this past year and threatening to make me pay.

Let’s be clear: this is not a martial arts class.  Not in the way I know it, anyway.  This is definitely martial arts lite for the masses.  But that is ok, because it also isn’t that dancy kickboxy crap that I have seen in the past.  These are real moves, real combos, and for the most part the techniques they are doing are true to each style.  Also- I have never thrown so many punches and kicks in a single hour in my entire life.  This class will definitely allow me to keep my basic skills up while staying the type of fit that will allow me to transition smoothly back into a traditional martial arts program when my lifestyle allows.

The whole time I was taking this class I was thinking- I could teach this.  Easily.  Group Exercise Instructor is actually an ideal job for me because I can control my hours and schedule, child care is built in (instructors can use the kids club service for free), and not only would I get paid to teach a class I would be taking anyway I would also get a free membership and reduce our households’ monthly bills.  Plus you can’t make excuses not to go to the gym when you are the instructor.  I took a look at the certification and it is totally do-able.  So here is the current plan: Lose 15 more pounds while attending as many of these classes as I can.  Once my weight is down and my fitness is to the point where I can actually do an entire class without taking a break I will go get my certification.  Along the way I will be getting into the kind of shape I need to be in to compete in the various races and competitions I am looking at.

I talked to the hubby, and he is on board too.

I find that good, hard exercise impacts my diet in a positive way.  I struggle the most with extra calories in the evenings, but after a workout I feel inspired to take good care of my body.  I just burned OFF those calories and it was hard work, why on earth would I just want to put them back so that I have to work them off AGAIN later.  No thank you.

This week in total I did one day of elliptical training, took a very long walk with a baby strapped to me, and took this class.  Did my efforts show on the scale?  I will find out later today and let you all know!

Anyone else out there finding diet and exercise programs that work for them?

Update: I am down one stinkin’ pound, but by golly that brings me under 140!

4 comments on “Fitness Contest Day 3: BodyCombat™

  1. Sarah
    March 11, 2013

    Great plan! I am doing a combination of Pilates, Zumba (the only cardio class I can stand), and Elliptical (the only cardio machine I can stand). For diet – first I cut out all white starches (white bread, rice, pasta, potatoes) and replace it with whole grains. Now I am cutting down the portion sizes of those whole grains and trying to use ones that also have protein (quinoa, lentils). Also trying to cut out processed foods and anything with HF corn syrup added (a surprising amount of products) and of course cutting out sugar. I gave up sodas years ago and now I am trying to eat whole fruit when I get a sweet craving.

    • thousandtasksartist
      March 15, 2013

      We live right by a Whole Foods, which helps us avoid HF corn syrup. Congrats on cutting out starches. I don’t know how I would live without sourdough bread and pasta! I need to get back into Zumba. When Mr. G is six-months-old I can start the bellydancing class at our gym again. Can’t wait for that!

  2. Erica
    March 14, 2013

    Wow that’s awesome! My hubby does martial arts also and loves it. I’m thinking about trying it

    • thousandtasksartist
      March 15, 2013

      You should! It is a fantastic form of exercise and very empowering! What style does he study?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 11, 2013 by in Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , .