Artist of a Thousand Tasks

One woman's crazy quest to take on everything and become the ultimate jack-of-all-trades.

Soup!

Congrats to all of my Catholic friends on your new leader.  In the spirit of this news, I thought I would share one of my favorite food resources:

About a year ago, my husband was at the library checking out used books for sale.  He came across this.  He loves soup, so he brought it home for $2.50.  Best $2.50 he has ever spent.

This guy knows soup!

This guy knows soup!

Twelve Months of Monastery Soups by Brother Victor-Antoine d’Avila-Latourrette is by far the best recipe book I have ever owned.  Most of the recipes are simple, healthy, inexpensive to make, and delicious.  Some of our favorites are the potato-dumpling, the polish pearl barley, and the soupe savoyarde.  With this book I have exponentially increased the number and variety of vegetables my family eats in a week.

Since the recipes are so simple, they are easy to modify.  I think you have a tremendous amount of freedom with soup anyway, since you are essentially shoving ingredients into a liquid and letting them sit.  No complex cooking processes or order of operations (as in baking).  Soups are very forgiving and hard to ruin and they are almost universal crowd-pleasers.

I typically make 1-3 soups in a week using stock from a rotisserie chicken I buy from Whole Foods once a week (on Wednesdays they are $2 off).  Most of the soups in the book are vegetarian or can be made vegetarian, I often add meat such as chicken or bacon (who doesn’t need a little bacon in their lives?).  We eat the leftovers throughout the week, or share with friends.

If you a fan of soup, I highly recommend picking up this book!

4 comments on “Soup!

  1. Sarah
    March 14, 2013

    My life would be so much easier if Jasper would eat soup *sigh*

    • thousandtasksartist
      March 15, 2013

      He doesn’t eat soup?? I do not think I have ever met anyone that can make that claim. Why doesn’t he eat soup?

  2. Craftynail
    March 14, 2013

    I love this book! I got it from the library and didn’t want to return it. The night before it was due back I sat down and hand-wrote some of the recipes so I could always have them!
    The ingredients are so simple and basic- anyone who loves soup should check it out!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 14, 2013 by in Fitness, Food and tagged , , , , , , .
